Quality Legal Services For New Jersey’s Citizens

What should I know about vehicle inspections?

On Behalf of | Mar 24, 2023 | Traffic Violations

New Jersey has inspection rules for vehicles to help with pollution and to keep the roads safer. These inspections will check for leaks that could lead to serious mechanical issues and that expel excessive pollution into the air.

Not every vehicle has to undergo inspection, but if you must do so, you could get into legal trouble if an officer pulls you over with an expired inspection sticker.

Passenger vehicles inspection requirements

If your vehicle is from 1995 or older and weighs 8,500 pounds or less, then you do not need to get an inspection. You also are exempt from the requirement if you have an electric vehicle. However, newer models with the same weight class should undergo an inspection every two years.

Inspection areas

You will need to take your vehicle to a state or private inspection facility. You will need to provide the center with your vehicle registration, driver’s license and insurance identification card. You must provide originals and not copies. Once the inspection is complete, you will receive a sticker to display on your vehicle.

If you fail inspection, you must make repairs and get another check. You will have a set time limit to complete repairs and return. Only registered Emission Repair Facilities can fix your vehicle.


If you are late getting an inspection, the facility will not penalize you. However, officers can pull you over and ticket you. You could face up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $200. You may also have penalties against your registration.