Quality Legal Services For New Jersey’s Citizens

The penalties for underage drunk driving in New Jersey

On Behalf of | Oct 12, 2021 | Juvenile Charges

Whether you are a parent concerned about your teen driver or you are a driver under the age of 21, it is vital to go over the penalties for underage drunk driving and the impact of these allegations. In New Jersey, drivers under the age of 21 cannot operate a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system.

Because of this zero-tolerance policy, young drivers sometimes find themselves wrongly accused of driving drunk, while others do not realize that even a very small amount of alcohol can result in serious charges.

Underage drunk driving charges lead to harsh penalties

According to the Division of Highway Traffic Safety, drivers under 21 who have any alcohol in their system (a BAC level of more than .01) face various penalties. Even if you have a minute amount of alcohol in your system, you could have to perform community service for 30 days and lose your driving privileges for 90 days. Moreover, the state could refer you to a safety program.

Other consequences of underage drunk driving charges

Aside from penalties imposed by courts, drivers under the age of 21 who find themselves in this position face other hardships. For example, a drunk driving case could interfere with your education as well as your employment, whether you cannot focus on your studies, you sustain serious damage to your reputation or you struggle with transportation due to losing your driving privileges.

Drunk driving charges could also haunt you years down the road while trying to find a job. Make sure you take a careful approach to your case and pore over different strategies to secure a more favorable outcome in court.